Dan The Wrestling Fan.

#16: Bron Breakker vs. Gunther, WWE NXT (4/5/2022).

This is for Bron's NXT Championship.

So, a little about myself first: I buy the WWE games for Universe Mode exclusively. I come up with my own storylines and I play the matches out. It's fun! I plan on getting WWE 2K24 in the summer, so I thought I'd familiarize myself with certain wrestlers in the game that I've never seen wrestle before, including those who wrestled in NXT from 2021 to present day.

I'm starting with Bron Breakker, the son of Rick Steiner. I've always heard positive things about him over the years, but this was my first time ever seeing him wrestle. From the things I've heard of Bron, to how familiar I already was with Gunther/WALTER, I had a feeling this match would be a banger. And I was not wrong.

This was Gunther's final NXT match before heading to the main roster. The match started slow, as both men are giving this a chance to breathe, despite clearly being able to go at 100 right away. They each exchange side headlock takedowns. Bron hits a shoulder tackle that does absolutely nothing, and Gunther follows that with a forearm to the chest, and then a huge big boot to the face.

Bron uses his amateur wrestling skills to get Gunther into the corner. Gunther goes for a leap, and Bron catches him with a scoop slam while mid air! That was honestly one of the most impressive things I've seen in a while. Big spear from Bron next, and now the straps are coming down. Bron goes for a press slam, but his hurt shoulder gives out on him. Gunther chops him to the outside and sends him into the steel steps.

Gunther hits three nasty chops inside the ring. Bron responds with a big clothesline. Gunther looks to target the bad shoulder with a Kimura Lock. Bron gets back on the offensive with a belly to belly suplex. Gunther hits a shotgun dropkick and a powerbomb for a nearfall. He follows that with a top rope splash for another nearfall.

Bron catches Gunther mid air with a spear, and then press slams him into a powerslam for the win to retain the NXT Title. I liked this a lot. It was a good little match between two hosses. I say next time they go one on one, give them more time. There was something here, but it was way too short. A longer match could be a classic!